• Нет обложки

    The Secret Chord

    Geraldine Brooks is acclaimed for her ardent imaginative engagement with the blank spaces in history's record. In her fifth novel, she reconsiders King David, a man who shimmers between history and legend and whose life arcs from obscurity to fame, from shepherd to soldier, from hero to traitor, from brilliant poet, glorious musician, and glamorous young tyrant into an ailing and remorseful old age. Telling her story through the eyes of Nathan, the courtier who both counseled and castigated David, Brooks reinterprets both the better and the lesser-known episodes of David's life, giving voice to those who loved and those who feared him, and bringing David magnificently alive in an unvarnished saga of ambition, power, desire, and family.

  • Caleb’s Crossing

    Проза , Прошлое
    A novel from Pulitzer Prize-winner Geraldine Brooks, author of the Richard and Judy bestseller ‘March’, ‘Year of Wonders’ and ‘People of the Book’.Caleb's Experience is inspired by the little known story of the first native American to graduate from Harvard College in 1665. Caleb, a Wampanoag from the island of Martha's Vineyard, seven miles off the coast of Massachusetts, grew up in the first generation of Indians to experience contact with English settlers. (The first English settled the island in 1641, to escape the brutal and doctrinaire Puritanism of the Massachusetts Bay colony.) The story is told through the eyes of Bethia, daughter of the English minister who educates Caleb in the Latin and Greek he needs in order to enter the college. As Caleb makes the crossing into white culture, Bethia, 14 years old at the novel's opening, finds herself pulled in the opposite direction. Trapped by the narrow strictures of her faith and her gender, she seeks connections with Caleb's world that will challenge her beliefs and set her at odds with her community.

  • , , , , , , ,

    Kingdom of Olives and Ash: Writers Confront the Occupation

    Проза , Прошлое
    Published to coincide the with 50th anniversary of the Israel occupation of the West Bank, an anthology that explores the human cost of the conflict there as witnessed by such notable writers as Colum McCann, Colm Toibin, Dave Eggers, Madeleine Thien, Eimear McBride, Taiye Selasi and editors Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman.June 2017 marks the 50th anniversary of the Israel occupation of the West Bank. The violence on both sides of the conflict has been horrific, the casualties catastrophic. Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman, two of today's most renowned novelists and essayists, have joined forces with the Israeli NGO Breaking the Silence—an organization comprised of former Israeli soldiers who served in the occupied territories and saw firsthand the injustice there—and a host of illustrious writers to tell the stories of the people on the ground in the contested territories.KINGDOM OF OLIVES AND ASH includes contributions from some of our most esteemed storytellers, including essays from editors Chabon and Waldman. Their writing enables readers to understand the human narratives behind the litany of grim destruction broadcasted nightly on the news. Together they all stand witness to the human cost of the occupation.